On July 12, 2011, a historic truss was set in its new location at 4th Street over the Allegheny River in Coudersport. The truss had spent the past 127 years three blocks upstream at 7th Street, carrying traffic to the Borough’s northeast corner and recreation park facilities. The historic bridge will now continue its service life as a pedestrian bridge at its new location.
The 7th Street Bridge was built in 1883 by the King Bridge Company of Cleveland, OH. The bridge is unique because it is one of the first bridges to be built entirely of steel and to still be in service. The bridge was retrofitted in 1983 with the addition of the steel arches. The decision to replace the bridge was made by the borough because it was functionally obsolete. The bridge was a one lane bridge that lacked adequate vertical clearance, proper barriers, or a sidewalk to provide access for pedestrians using the park.
The relocation and minor rehabilitation of the truss was part of a $1.7 million Borough project in a joint effort with PennDOT Engineering District 2-0 and the Federal Highway Administration. The project design was completed by our Williamsport, PA office. The contractor is L.C. Whitford of Wellsville, NY. The project involves a new structure at the 7th street crossing to carry two lanes of traffic plus a sidewalk across the Allegheny River and relocation of the 7th Street Bridge.
The project is still ongoing with more work to be done to the truss, including a new glulam timber deck and steel railing across the structure. The work will be completed by this Fall. Stay tuned for more.